So far so good

Day four after the first cycle and I’m really grateful that I’ve had a fairly normal couple of days. I’m continuing to be active (walking around 10km a day) as I know this keeps me strong – both body and mind.

I woke up early yesterday morning feeling good and went to a work meeting in Paddington. Good to be back to normality and to be involved at work. Energy levels seemed to be better. I continued to drink tons of water throughout the day, both to stay hydrated but also because my mouth often feels quite dry.

Headed to Primrose Hill to see Andrew for acupuncture late afternoon, always a great way to relax and get things moving around the body. We spent some time catching up about how things went and any side effects I’m experiencing. He asked me whether I had a metallic taste in my mouth (common side effect) but I can’t say I do. Just feels drier than usual. Then it was time for the needles and my stomach in particular seemed to be making noises and responding well. I decided to stop any anti-sickness medicines and I’m convinced I felt better because of that. I’ve been looking at studying again. Somehow, this experience is drawing me towards exploring a holistic approach to medicine. I contacted the College of Naturopathic Medicine and discussed some options. I’ve always been interested in acupuncture and maybe now is the time to explore this further. The prospect of helping others, learning something new and using my hands in the process is quite appealing. The college runs both part-time and full-time options and I’m trying to work out if I can fit this around my work. Even if I never actually practise acupuncture, something is drawing me towards learning.

I realised yesterday that the bad heartburn a day before may have been due to my monthly cycle which sometimes happens. It would also explain feeling quite low in energy in addition to everything else. I woke up today feeling tired but good again. I’m taking each day as it comes and aside from the initial nausea earlier this week and a drier mouth than usual, I’m feeling good. I do have some soreness under my arm where I had surgery but this might be due to the cording or stiffness in general or some of the exercises I was doing on the area a  few days ago. I’m glad that my cravings for junk food have now also subsided and I was able to start having green juices again, something that just wasn’t possible a few days ago.

I stopped my email notifications from the MacMillan forum. I had joined their ‘January Chemo Club’ which is basically a part of the forum where people leave messages around how they’re feeling, what they’re experiencing and seeking support from others. It seems that everyone reacts so very different to the substances and I’m not sure I want to read all the horror stories some people are experiencing. I guess it’s like any other platform – you’d post mainly negative things rather than positive experiences.

For me, for now, I’m grateful for how things have been and I’ll continue to balance being active and taking time to chill.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

